Lord of Houses in Astrology

Lord of Houses in Astrology

14 June, 2023

Lord of House in one’s chart is an extremely important factor to read & predict someone’s future with the help of a horoscope/kundli.

Astrology is a fascinating field that offers insights into various aspects of our lives based on the positioning of celestial bodies in the sky at the time of our birth. The astrological chart, also known as the horoscope, is divided into 12 houses, each representing different areas of life. In this article, we will explore the 12 houses in astrology and delve into the significance of their ruling lords. Understanding these houses and their lords can provide valuable insights into our personalities, relationships, and life experiences.

The 12 Houses in Astrology and Their Lords

  • 1st House – Aries (Mars)
  • 2nd House – Taurus (Venus)
  • 3rd House – Gemini (Mercury)
  • 4th House – Cancer (The Moon)
  • 5th House – Leo (The Sun)
  • 6th House – Virgo (Mercury)
  • 7th House – Libra (Venus)
  • 8th House – Scorpio (Mars)
  • 9th House – Sagittarius (Jupiter)
  • 10th House – Capricorn (Saturn)
  • 11th House – Aquarius (Saturn)
  • 12th House – Pisces (Jupiter)

The First House – House of Self (Aries)

The First House represents the individual’s self-image, personality, physical appearance, and how one projects themselves to the world. The lord of this house is Mars, the planet of energy, action, and assertiveness. The placement of Mars in the First House influences the individual’s drive, ambition, and self-confidence.

The Second House – House of Finances (Taurus)

The Second House governs wealth, possessions, and personal resources. It signifies financial stability, material possessions, and self-worth. The lord of this house is Venus, the planet of love and abundance, who rules this house. The position of Venus in the Second House influences an individual’s financial habits, values, and potential for accumulating wealth.

The Third House – House of Communication (Gemini)

The Third House governs communication, siblings, short trips, and intellect. It represents learning, writing, speaking, and the ability to express oneself. The lord of this house is Mercury, the planet of communication and intellect, who rules this house. The placement of Mercury in the Third House indicates one’s communication skills, mental agility, and relationship with siblings.

The Fourth House – House of Home and Family (Cancer)

The Fourth House signifies one’s home, family, roots, and emotional foundations. It represents our sense of security and the nurturing environment we seek. The lord of this house is Moon, the planet associated with emotions and instincts, which rules this house. The placement of the Moon in the Fourth House influences an individual’s emotional well-being, family dynamics, and connection to their roots.

The Fifth House – House of Creativity and Romance (Leo)

The Fifth House represents creativity, self-expression, romance, and children. It governs artistic pursuits, hobbies, love affairs, and the capacity for joy. The lord of this house is the Sun, the planet of vitality and self-expression, who rules this house. The placement of the Sun in the Fifth House influences an individual’s creative talents, romantic inclinations, and relationship with children.

The Sixth House – House of Health and Service (Virgo)

The Sixth House governs health, work, daily routines, and service to others. It represents physical well-being, work ethic, and attention to detail. The lord of this house is Mercury, the planet associated with intellect and communication, which rules this house. The placement of Mercury in the Sixth House indicates one’s approach to work, organizational skills, and attitude toward health and wellness.

The Seventh House – House of Relationships (Libra)

The Seventh House represents partnerships, marriage, and significant relationships. It governs one-on-one interactions, collaborations, and the search for balance and harmony in relationships. The lord of this house is Venus, the planet of love and beauty, who rules this house. The placement of Venus in the Seventh House influences an individual’s approach to relationships, their ideal partner, and the qualities they seek in a mate.

The Eighth House – House of Transformation (Scorpio)

The Eighth House signifies transformation, shared resources, sexuality, and the occult. It represents deep emotional connections, intimacy, and life’s mysteries. The lords of this house are Mars and Pluto, the planets associated with power and transformation, who rule this house. The placement of Mars and Pluto in the Eighth House influences an individual’s ability to handle change, their approach to intimacy, and their interest in esoteric subjects.

The Ninth House – House of Higher Knowledge (Sagittarius)

The Ninth House represents higher education, philosophy, spirituality, and long-distance travel. It governs our beliefs, quest for meaning, and expansion of consciousness. The lord of this house is Jupiter, the planet of wisdom and growth, who rules this house. The placement of Jupiter in the Ninth House influences an individual’s spiritual inclinations, educational pursuits, and desire for exploration and adventure.

The Tenth House – House of Career and Public Image (Capricorn)

The Tenth House signifies one’s career, achievements, social status, and reputation. It represents professional ambitions, public image, and the impact one makes in the world. The lord of this house is Saturn, the planet associated with discipline and responsibility, which rules this house. The placement of Saturn in the Tenth House influences an individual’s work ethic, career aspirations, and approach to achieving success.

The Eleventh House – House of Friendships and Aspirations (Aquarius)

The Eleventh House represents friendships, social networks, and aspirations. It governs our involvement in group activities, community, and collective goals. The lords of this house are Saturn and Uranus, the planet of innovation and individuality, rules this house. The placement of Uranus in the Eleventh House influences an individual’s approach to friendships, their involvement in social causes, and their aspirations for the future.

The Twelfth House – House of Spirituality and Endings (Pisces)

The Twelfth House signifies spirituality, introspection, hidden strengths, and endings. It represents solitude, subconscious patterns, and the release of the ego. The lords of this house are Jupiter & Neptune, the planet associated with dreams and illusions, who rule this house. The placement of Neptune in the Twelfth House influences an individual’s connection to the spiritual realm, their capacity for compassion and empathy, and their ability to navigate the subconscious mind.


Understanding the 12 houses in astrology and their ruling lords provides valuable insights into different areas of life and our individual traits. Each house represents a unique aspect of our existence, shaping our experiences and influencing our interactions with the world. By exploring the significance of these houses and their ruling planets, we can gain a deeper understanding of ourselves and the forces that shape our lives. Astrology serves as a tool for self-reflection, personal growth, and navigating life’s challenges and opportunities with greater awareness.

Share This Story

Got Something To Say: